Prompts and Challenges

#WeekendCoffeeShare: Joy Riding

bike coffee share

JOY RIDING

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I am what this cycle-friendly region calls a “joy rider,” not ready for the hills of the escarpment (road riders), or set up for long distance routes (tour riders). But 120 kilometres of our pathways are just my speed, and I cycle for the bliss of it each day (see bike-travel video below).

SCENES ALONG MY BIKEWAYS

If you were here, I would invite you to fly along a bikeway with me.Β  We would see:

  • Marshes, full of trilling birds – egrets, great blue herons, sleek, low-flying cormorants, and majestic swans.

marsh1

  • Carp, boiling the water as they writhe into the marshy shallows to spawn.

carp

  • A groundhog, smart, evasive and cartoonish as we try to take a picture.

groundhog

  • Mist, suspended in the mid-range of the distant mountain, not quite a cloud.

mist

  • A meadow, one of dozens, begging for a picnic.

meadow

  • A profusion of weeds in flower in a quiet cove.

flowers

Many of my rides are on the Georgian Trail, a 34-km (21-mile) ribbon of green that follows the route of the original Northern Railway along the southern shore of Georgian Bay.Β  See more on the area’s 650 km of bike trails here.

See posts from other bloggers in the Weekend Coffee Share community, here.

The #WeekendCoffeeShare is hosted by blogger Diana atΒ Part Time Monster.

32 replies »

  1. Beautiful! I love the most on the mountain. I had to look up where this is, as I live in Georgia, but I was sure this “Georgian shore” was not the same. πŸ˜‰ Canada, right? The pictures are simply inviting and peaceful.

    Like

  2. What a great post. I’m such an animal lover and it’s extra special when you spot something in nature. I haven’t ridden my bike for too long but I walk my dogs along the beach and take in the melodies of the waves. My parents used to have a place at Palm Beach on the Pittwater side, which is still water. This is where the show Home & Away is filmed, except mostly on the beach front I think.
    Anyway, while the mud flats might not have been as pretty, the array of critters living there was impressive…soldier crabs, Grey Heron, rainbow lorikeets, Sulphur-crested Cockatoos. I miss it!
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena
    Here’s a link to a post I wrote about walking along the mudflats.https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/exploring-our-borrowed-backyard-palm-beach/

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a great post about walking the mudflats Rowena. I’m not as well acquainted with the ocean as I am with the lakes, but there are many similarities, minus the tides, which mesmerize me whenever we get a chance to be on the sea.

      Liked by 1 person

      • The tides over at Palm Beach were quite an experience because the mudflats were about waist deep at high tide and you wanted to make sure you’d get back. My parents’ place was one of the first sections to go under so we had tyo be careful. The incoming tide started out with this understated ripple but you’d spot the small but poisonous toadfish in there and that meant it was time to go. It really gave meaning to that quote: “The tide waits for no man”.
        Hope you’re having a great day!
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fabulous peek into your world! Such gorgeous and delightful photos as well. Thanks for the “joy ride” – and hope you take us on more in the future. Wishing you a wonderful week.

    Like

Something to say?

