Poem: Coiled

Veer in het ijzerdraad om de afrastering op spanning te houden. Spring loaded iron wire fence.

I will not uncoil to you.

I train Latin phrases

To pound through my brain

Like Bach

So I do not hear you

When you talk.

 

I will not unbend for you.

In my head

I measure

The sweetness

Of a baby’s thumb

Its strength.

 

You will not straighten me.

I summon

The image

Of the creek

Where I fished

For trout.

 

I am a corkscrew

A helix

Of hope

Against the shadow

You cast

On me.

One thought on “Poem: Coiled

Something to say?

