Poem: A Seiche

SEICHE

Seiche: a standing wave oscillating in a body of water.

A seiche is caused :

when strong winds and rapid changes in atmospheric pressure push water from one end of a body of water to the other.

***

Seiche, ‘say it with me: say-sh,’ a tweet from Buffalo this morning.

Doom waiting to happen, Facebook says.

Stormhunters are at the Erie shore.

In my head I’m in a crouch

Hunched under the desk at school

Hands over head, to protect myself

As if.

We used to cross the street from home to home

On crystal Cold War summer nights

Chins tucked into necks

In case an ICBM should arc above us

Heading for Detroit.

We would be gone, but first we’d see the blast.

Destruction threats encroach on life

Tautening sinew, producing angst.

I am unnerved by warnings

Of tornadoes, floods and hurricanes,

I yip and yap

In panic like a poodle unable to control its bark.

Terrorism does me in.

Something to say?

